Coconut Caramel Banana Bread

I picked up 3 pounds of bananas from Sam’s Club the other week. They were lovely, bright, and so irresistible.

I knew, at first sight, that I needed to make a banana bread out of them.

bbread1

So I set off in search of a great recipe, because, let’s face it, I’m not a bread maker, haha.

I found two recipes that I really liked. So I just combined them into one that felt better, then added some extras.

The first recipe that I really liked comes from Lovely Little Kitchen, and it involved the use of greek yogurt! I couldn’t resist, especially since I have a container of Vanilla Greek Yogurt that I can’t stay out of.

The second recipe that inspired me is from Rasa Malaysia, and is such a lovely, easy to follow recipe.

bbread2

I cobbled the two of these recipes together, because I liked the simplicity of Rasa Malaysia’s recipe, but I adored the idea of using Greek yogurt as suggested by Lovely Little Kitchen.

I then added coconut and caramel (did you expect anything less from me?!).

The result was an amazingly soft, gooey, caramelly, banana bread that even the hubs couldn’t resist! Seriously, he and Ethan couldn’t get enough of it!

bbread3

One of the recipes calls for softened butter, and one calls for melted butter. I chose to use softened butter since I was adding the yogurt; I was afraid the melted butter would possibly created a runnier batter/massively gooey bread. I could’ve offset that by adding more flour, but I was already going with 1 1/2 cups, and not being a bread maven, I went with my instincts here. (*bad Honey!*)

bbread4

Coconut Caramel Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3 mashed bananas (about 1 – 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons yogurt (I used Dannon Light & Fit Vanilla Greek Yogurt)
  • 1/2 cup sweetened flake coconut
  • 1/2 cup Caramel baking bits

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and prepare a loaf pan by either spraying it with cooking spray or oiling/flouring it.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cornstarch, whisk with a fork to lightly mix them together.
  3. In the bowl of a mixer, cream the butter and sugars. Add the eggs and beat until combined. Mix in the  vanilla, banana, and yogurt, then beat thoroughly.
  4. At this point, you want to slowly mix the ingredients, love on them some, it’s ok.
  5. With a spatula, slowly fold in the flour mixture with the wet mixture. It will have a lumpy texture, which is perfect. It also tastes amazing.
  6. Fold in the 1/2 cup coconut and caramel bits. Make sure to slowly but thoroughly mix the caramel into the batter (or you will end up with clumps of caramel, like my bread!).
  7. Pour mixture into prepared loaf pan. If desired, top dough with additional shredded coconut and caramel bits.
  8. Bake for approximately 60 minutes. My bread was a tad over-done on the edges, so I would definitely check it at the 50 minute mark. It is done with a toothpick/cake pin inserted in the center comes out clean.
  9. Let the bread cool completely in the loaf pan before attempting to pull it out.

I absolutely enjoyed this bread, and would make it again. And again.

I love the versatility and classic feel of baking a banana bread, and I really like how adding the yogurt gives the recipe an updated and modern approach.

bbread6

This recipe, with the addition of the coconut and caramel, definitely makes for a more dessert style bread, but damn, it was amazing with some cream cheese and a cup of coffee!

Do you have a classic banana bread recipe?

untitled-2-copy

Leave a Reply

