Homemade Pumpkin Spice Lattes

I am totally addicted to Pinterest. That’s probably not a shock to most people, because seriously, as soon as you join, you’re done. There’s no turning back! I’ve recently been in love with the Food and Drink section, finding tons of new ideas that I just can’t resist. It works really well, because my family has been eating at home, which means I’m cooking. I get tired of the same old things all the time. Luckily the recipes on Pinterest have come to the rescue! Some have been… interesting. Others have become regular rotation keepers. Then there are the special recipes like the one I’m in love with today.

This is a crock pot latte!

Pumpkin Spice Latte.

I cannot tell you how excited I am that this recipe actually tastes yummy! I am a Pumpkin Spice Latte snob. As soon as it gets close to October I’m haunting my local Starbucks just waiting…I know it’s coming. And I must partake of its pumpkin-y fall-y goodness.

But alas, we live a good 20 miles outside of town so getting a PSL everyday is more … daydream than reality.

Enter Pinterest. A quick search for Pumpkin Spice Lattes at home. A million or so results… I chose this particular recipe, however, because it let me use my (new) (red) crock pot.

It’s an incredibly simple recipe, but next time I will definitely only make half. I’ve already had 3 cups and I’m starting to wear out, haha.

The original recipe comes from the Thriving Home Blog. I’m telling you, she’s a genius. Anyone that can keep me swimming in Pumpkin Spice Latte is a friend in my book 😉

Seriously, I could swim in that. Not sure I would enjoy the second degree burns, but sacrifices, right?

It was so good I was forced to share with little man. We added some whipped topping and cinnamon on top.

I don’t recommend letting it get cold. The pumpkin pie kind of re-solidifies when it gets cold. Gross.

Hot = good.

You can find the original post and recipe at Thriving Home Blog’s Pumpkin Spiced Latte Recipe post. It’s amazing.

I followed the same recipe, but I did tweak just a wee bit, not much.

Crock-Pot Pumpkin Spiced Latte

Ingredients
  • 6 cups of milk (I used whole)
  • 4-6 cups of strongly brewed coffee (I used Hazelnut flavored coffee and it’s amazing!)
  • 8 tablespoons of pumpkin puree
  • 8 tablespoons of vanilla extract (yes, 8!)
  • 8 tablespoons of sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
  • 3 cinnamon sticks (I actually didn’t have any of these, so I didn’t add them)
Instructions
 

In your crock pot, combine the milk and coffee.
Whip together the pumpkin, vanilla, sugar and cinnamon and pour into the crockpot.
Mix together well.
Toss in 3-4 cinnamon sticks.
Cover the crockpot, and cook on high for 2 hours.
 
Next time I’m definitely going to half the recipe, there’s too much for just me!
 

I’m planning on keeping the latte in my crock pot all day, it’s got my house smelling amazing, it’s got me happy with a PSL in my hand that is *literally* the equal to Starbucks and with the cooler weather outside, how can that not put a smile on my face?!

So enjoy the homemade yumminess of this recipe and go check out Thriving Home’s recipe!

Much love, y’all!

 

Leave a Reply

