S’mores Blondies

I am back, internet people. Had to take a few days because we were moving, but I never forgot about this blog! After the move, I needed to rest. Damn the Polymyositis, it flared up afterwards. But then again, I WAS pushing myself; carried boxes, furniture, etc and pretended I was ok.

But here I am, back!

And boy do I have something special for you today!

S’mores Blondies.

Yum.

*look* at the gooey!

S’mores are super yummy, and these bars are so gooey and delightful. I’ll admit, I brought these babies to life for a good friend of mine. She’s trading me homemade Pumpkin bread (*sigh* so excited!).

As y’all know, I’ve not been a fan of chocolate lately, so these babies were designed specially for her. I did try one (c’mon, how could I not?!) and I love them! I can’t eat a lot, because my medication really does make chocolate taste weird, but when the E-man runs by and snags one, eats it, then tries for another… you know they’re good!

This is a very straightforward and simple recipe that starts with a basic blondie base. Blondies are like, white brownies. They have a similar consistency to brownies, but are done with brown sugar instead (think of it like a thick, cakey chocolate chip cookie base) and are all made with the same basic recipe, so it’s super easy to “make it your own.”  This recipe is a mix of about three others that I’ve come across in different cookbooks and combined for me.

What I love about these, they’re similar to the Congo Bars that I made a little ago, in that you can add whatever your sweet craving heart desires. This time, I decided to give my lovely friend some chocolate, graham crackers, and coconut dusted marshmallows (c’mon you knew I had to throw coconut in there somewhere!)

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 tbs vanilla
1 egg
1/2 cup broken up graham cracker pieces
1/2 cup (I used a 16 oz bag) semi-sweet chocolate pieces
1/2 cup toasted coconut marshmallows, cut up into small pieces (or you could save yourself the trouble and buy miniature marshmallows, but I used what I had in my cabinet)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and generously spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray. The 8×8 will give you thick bars, if you prefer thinner bars, use a larger baking pan.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt.

In a microwave safe bowl, melt your butter. Add brown sugar and vanilla, stir to combine. Make sure it is cool, then add the egg and mix completely. Combine this mixture with the flour mixture and stir until evenly combined.

Gently fold in the graham cracker pieces and the chocolate chips.

Pour mix into the 8×8 pan, and top with marshmallows. I recommend putting them on top, if you add the marshmallows to the inside of the mix, they will melt into the batter. Putting them on top lets them get nice and gooey and still be visible 🙂

Because of how thick these babies were, I ended up needing to cook them for 28 minutes. But depending on your oven, you should check them about 22-24 minutes.

Allow them to cool completely before cutting, or, if you’re like me, you’ll end up with drool-worthy gooeyness on your cutting knife and I don’t recommend cutting your tongue just to eat it…

I’m already thinking about the next variation I want to try, including Reese’s bits and pretzel pieces… or caramel bits and Golden Oreo chunks… yum…

Until next time, my loves!

I should probably note too, that this is just a personal blog that I’ve begun using for recipe sharing. I’m not a professional blogger, I’m not paid for this, I’m not a professional food cook or critic, and I certainly don’t have any training in cooking. I do this for the pure pleasure, so if my writing style isn’t up to par, oh well. Just try the recipes and eat the damn food! YUM!

Leave a Reply

