Smacked in the face… with a failure!

You know how you find yourself in one of those glorious moments, where everyone is cheering your name. They’re clapping, and shouting, they’re giving you the brightest smiles, and you are CHAMPION.

That doesn’t come close to describing what happened with this goop.

I’m not trying to be mean, or nasty. Trust me. I had incredibly high hopes, but it didn’t match with reality.

I came across the Buffalo Chicken Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese pin recently. It’s from Snappy Gourmet.

I had to try it. C’mon, it’s BUFFALO CHICKEN MACARONI and CHEESE.

Image

The whole consistency was off for me; macaroni and cheese is supposed to have firm noodles, but maybe it’s the slow cooker affecting them, but the noodles here were lost and mushy.

It turned out to be more like a dip.

So I put some of it into a Ziploc baggy and titled it, “Buffalo Chicken Dip.”

LATE NIGHT SNACK, REPRESENT!

I guess I will share one great tip with you guys, though.

One –

Put your chicken in a stand mixer!

Put your chicken in a stand mixer!

 

Two –

Watch it very closely. Just for fun.

Watch it very closely. Just for fun.

 

Three –

Enjoy your beautiful SHREDDED CHICKEN!

Enjoy your beautiful SHREDDED CHICKEN!

 

Yes, it really does work. I do it all the time 🙂

In short, this is a recipe that was not enjoyed by my family as a dinner; if it was a party dip, I’d get rave reviews…

Have you ever had a recipe turn out a failure? What was it?

 

XOXO,

Honey

2 thoughts on “Smacked in the face… with a failure!

  1. I don’t always have success with making recipes that I have found on Pinterest. I have learned to trust my instincts and improvise or not follow recipes half way if I think they won’t turn out. Recently, I was following a recipe that had inverted the amounts of all purpose flour and almond meal. I knew that couldn’t be right so I stuck to my guts and the recipe turned out pretty good. Following the recipe as it was would have been disaster, since I was using pretty nice, and expensive figs in the recipe as well.

    Thanks for following my blog. I look forward to getting to know you through your blog.

    daisy

    P.S. I love the tangerine color stand mixer.

    • Daisy,

      I’m still learning to trust myself in the kitchen, and for some reason baking works better for me than cooking! I’m trying to fix that, however.

      I’m happy to hear the beautiful figs were not ruined in that recipe!

      Thank you for the comment, and for reading my post!

      – Honey

Leave a Reply

