Perfect Peanut Butter Cookies

Wow, you guys, I have found the perfect Peanut Butter Cookie recipe, and I *have* to share it!

I’m calling it perfect for one reason – I shared these cookies with my best friend, Misty (hey, girl!!), and her Old Man, John. They both loved them, and Johnny said they were “the perfect peanut butter cookie.”

That was the ultimate comment, that may have gone to my head 😉

Image

But anyhoo, I’ve had this obsession for the past few weeks to find another amazing cookie recipe; that Toasted Coconut Cream Cheese cookie is amazing, but I wanted something different, classic, and not chocolate.

i wanted something easy.

With a quick return time between batter mixin’ and tummy enjoyment.

Peanut. Butter. Cookies.

Image

What’s more classic than Peanut Butter Cookies? And don’t say Chocolate Chip Cookies, because then I’d have to beat you.

Image

Knowing I wanted to go all Cookie Monster on some Peanut Butter Cookies, I began the search for a recipe. I turned to Pinterest first (let’s face it, I am a junkie). I found a few recipes that interested me, so I kept them in mind for comparison. Then i pulled out all of my recipe books and cards.

What I did with this recipe was a bit different from what I normally do.

i gathered the recipes i liked, compared them and cobbled together my own.

Then i jumped in, and …. Succeeded on first try.

Holy Flaming Pink Panties, Batman.

Image

One thing I’ve noticed rather quickly with baking is that there is usually one basic recipe point for everything. You can probably figure it out, too. Flour, baking powder, salt, white/brown sugar, butter, etc. from there you can pretty much put together a starter bake set…

These cookies can be dressed up or dressed down, but since I really wanted something simple and smooth, these babies are naked!

Image

They are delicious naked, but I have been pondering the addition of jam…or even using chunky peanut butter…

Hubby was just happy that I didn’t put coconut in them…

Image

Perfect Peanut Butter Cookies 

Ingredients

2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter, melted and cooled

1 cup packed brown sugar (I used light brown)

1 cup white sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup peanut butter ( I used smooth)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°.

Melt butter in a microwave safe bowl. Place aside to cool slightly.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, or in a large mixing bowl with a hand mixer, cream the brown sugar, butter, and white sugar getting it nice and smooth.

Add in the vanilla, peanut butter, and eggs, then beat until smooth.

Beat in the flour mixture, half a cup at a time until combined and the consistency is smooth and creamy.

At this point, let the dough chill in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes to let it firm up (I generally like to keep my cookie doughs in the refrigerator while the batches are baking because it helps keep the dough firm, easy to manage while scooping, and it helps prevent excess spreading in the oven).

Scoop the dough onto a parchment paper/wax paper covered cookie sheet. I like to use a cookie scoop, but you could use a spoon (or your hands to form balls).

Theoretically, at this point, you would use a fork to make indents on the tops of the cookies. I say theoretically because it didn’t turn out so well on mine… Haha. Rest assured that taste was not affected.

Bake for 13-15 minutes, or until the edges lightly brown.

Let the cookies cool slightly before transferring to a wire rack.

Makes roughly 40-46 cookies, depending on the size you make them.

Image

With this batch of cookies, I decided to do something else I’ve never done before – freezing some of the dough so that my family and I could enjoy fresh cookies without having to mix up cookie dough (everyday, haha).

To freeze the cookies, I scooped out the dough on a wax paper lined cookie sheet, then placed them in the freezer for about an hour. I then carefully rolled/folded the wax paper around the frozen cookie dough balls, being careful not to let the dough balls touch. I then placed them in a freezer bag and put them into the freezer.

Image

Two days later hubby pulled the frozen cookies out and baked them…. They were just as fabulous as if I had made the dough that day.

*please note that when I baked them fresh, 12 minutes at 350° worked for my oven; however, the frozen ones (no we didn’t wait for them to thaw, haha) took around 18-20 minutes. Definitely adjust for the frozen cookies and prepare for a slightly longer bake time.

Do you have a favorite cookie recipe that you consider perfect? I’d love to hear about it!

xoxo,

Honey

Leave a Reply

