Chewy Browned Butter Cinnamon Chip Cookies

I have to admit, I’m really excited and proud of this recipe. My other cookie recipes are ones I’ve adapted in some small way to suit my tastes, but this one is special. This one is mine. I am proudly saying that I developed this recipe *all by myself.*

*blushes* I know, I know! *blushes*

From conception to bake times, this recipe was my original concept. This is a first for me, but I can tell it won’t be the last. I’m already working on another.

With that introduction, let me proudly share with you: Browned Butter Cinnamon Chip Cookies.

Browned butter cinnamon chip cookies. Cooking with Honey Coconuts.

I’ve had this bag of cinnamon chips in the cabinet for what seemed like forever. Aside from snacking on a few, they weren’t getting much attention. That is, until I realized they deserved a cookie. A brown sugar cookie.

Even better, a browned butter brown sugar cookie. YUM.

Browned butter cinnamon chip cookies

You don’t have to brown the butter for this recipe, but I LOVE the flavor profile. I think it enhances the brown butter and just adds that extra something.

browned butter cinnamon chip cookies

These cookies are chewy, moist, dense, and packed full of flavor. They also didn’t last long.

Browned Butter Cinnamon Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons Cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon Baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, 1 large egg yolk
  • 12 ounce bag Cinnamon chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Whisk to combine. Set aside.

In a saucepan on medium high heat, melt butter. Keep on high heat, stirring continuously. Butter will begin to foam up. After a few moments, the foam will subside and there should be light brown flecks in the bottom of the saucepan. Continue stirring; butter will begin to darken at this point. Remove from heat once the butter has reached a light brown color and has a nutty aroma, about 5-8 minutes. Pour into a bowl and allow to cool before continuing, about 20-30 minutes.

Once butter has cooled, cream it together with the brown sugar and white sugar until smooth.

Add egg, stir until smooth, then add yolk and vanilla.

Gradually add in the flour mixture and stir to combine. Add cinnamon chips. Mixture will be thick, so you may need to press the chips in.

Bake for 8-10 minutes. Yield approximately 48 cookies.

I’m already planning another batch of these cookies very soon.

I love the brown sugar cookie base, so be prepared to see that basic recipe utilized again by me. I love a good brown sugar cookie!

Browned butter cinnamon chip cookies

What cookie style is your favorite?

xoxo,

Honey

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chewy Browned Butter Cinnamon Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

