Carrot Spice Cookies – Recipe Development, part 1!

Sorry it’s been a few days since my last post; with the holiday we’ve been spending time with friends and family.

Plus, I’ve been working on this recipe for Carrot Cake Spice Cookies.

Recipe Development for Carrot Cake Spice Cookies.

It’s not ready yet. I thought it was, but my test batch didn’t turn out the way I wanted, so this isn’t a recipe share post. More of a “I’ve-been-busy-look-at-these-flat-cookies!” post, and how can I fix it discussion.

Recipe Development - Carrot cake spice cookies

It’s a recipe in development.

That just means I get to bake up another batch.

And that means there will be taste testing!

Recipe development - carrot cake spice cookies

In this case though, the issues I have with this cookie aren’t centered around taste. I’ve got the right combination of flavoring; I don’t care for the flatness of the cookie.

Carrot cake spice cookies. Under development!

I love thick, soft cookies. Not thin cookies. These guys spread way too much for me to be totally happy with them. On the plus, they are incredibly soft, moist, and would make perfect Carrot Spice Cream Pies!!

Carrot Cake Spice cookies. Recipe Development!

I think I know where I need to reconsider my recipe – I used a cup of butter and I browned it. So I started out with liquid butter (which is usually said to be a no-no anyway) because I love the flavor boost it adds to baked goods, but I didn’t consider that I would need to increase the flour. I only used 2 cups of flour.

In my next batch, I’m going to forego the browned butter and use 1/2 cup of softened butter instead. I’m going to keep it at 2 cups of flour, and we’ll see if that helps minimize spread.

I also put in 2 eggs, but I seriously considered doing 1 egg, 1 yolk. I would like to do 1 egg, 1 yolk next time, as that helps create a beautifully soft cookie (as does the cornstarch!).

Carrot Cake Spice cookies, under development!

For the next day or so, I’m going to be reconsidering the measurements of the recipe, but I’m planning to bake up another test batch within that time frame. You shouldn’t have to wait so long for the recipe, but I want to make sure it’s right. This batch was delish, but too thin. I’m going to work on that!

Carrot cake spice cookies

In the meantime, which do you prefer – a thin cookie, or a thick one?

 

XOXO,

Honey

 

Leave a Reply

