Carrot Cake Whoopie Pies, part II

This cookie recipe for the Carrot Cake Spice cookies has seriously been bugging me for days. I wanted thick, fat cookies and it just isn’t happening with my recipe. I tweaked the recipe multiple times, baked ’em up and was heart broken each time.

I couldn’t figure it out, so I embarked on some internet research.

I think I figured out my dilemma.

After comparing recipes and photos, the reason I’m not getting the fat cookies I envisioned has to be the lack of oatmeal in my mix. The big cookie pictures all featured oatmeal. My family doesn’t care for oatmeal styled cookies. So I’m not tweaking the recipe to add it in.

The last batch of Carrot Spice Cake cookies were amazing, even if they weren’t super fat. I did shred the carrots a bit thicker, and it was obvious in the cookies.

Carrot Cake Cookies

Yum.

They turned out so well that they’re almost gone. Already.

Little E has been requesting them like crazy; to the point that I had to put them away so that he wouldn’t eat them all!

carrotcakewhoopiepie

I enjoyed these babies as well. Then I had the brilliant idea to turn them into whoopie pies/cream pie style babies.

carrotcakepie3

Oh my word.

Brilliant!

I whipped up a Cream cheese/honey mixture, but I think next time I would go with a basic cream cheese icing. Unfortunately I wasn’t a fan of the honey, and had a love/hate relationship with it. I wanted to eat it, but at the same time it wasn’t happening for me.

carrotcakepie4

Before Little E realized how delish these were…

But Little Man devoured it! He enjoyed it, so I think it’s just me.

Carrot Cake whoopie pies

…after Little Man took off with the other half!

When you whip up this frosting, make sure to whip it for a good solid 5 minutes. That will ensure that it is perfectly fluffy and soft. The original recipe called for just honey and cream cheese, however, I added powdered sugar to my version, and that made it better for me.

Honestly, the only reason I’m telling you this is because I believe in full disclosure. I’m going to share the recipe I used for the frosting, and leave it up to you. My son enjoyed it thoroughly; I liked it after I added powdered sugar, but I don’t think I like honey. Odd thing to say, but the medication I’m on affects my taste and it definitely affected this one!

carrotcakepie3

Now for the recipes, which I know you’ve been dying for!

Carrot Cake Spice Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch (this is a secret ingredient if you want super soft cookies!)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (it doesn’t make them taste like pumpkin, trust me!)
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg, 1 yolk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 -1 cup shredded carrot
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup walnuts or pecans (can omit if prefer)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or silpat (if you’re awesome and own one).
  2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, cornstarch, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Stir to combine.
  3. In a mixer with the paddle attachment, combine butter, brown sugar and white sugar. Beat until smooth and combined.
  4. Add in egg, mix until incorporated, then add in yolk and vanilla. Stir until combined.
  5. Fold in carrot, coconut and nuts.
  6. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  7. Scoop onto cookie sheet, with enough space in between to prevent cookies from touching when they spread during baking. I only baked 6 at a time.
  8. Bake at 350 degree for 9-12 minutes. With my oven, 9:30 was perfect – still slightly underbaked but not overdone.
  9. Immediately transfer to wire wrack to allow to cool.

Cream Cheese Honey icing

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup – 1 cup powdered sugar, to taste

Directions:

  1. In mixer fit with whisk attachment, combine honey, cream cheese, and powdered sugar. Whisk at least five minutes or until thoroughly combined and soft/fluffy.
  2. Taste, add more powdered sugar as desired until preferred taste is found.
  3. Spread in between two cookies and enjoy!

Carrot Cake Spice Whoopie Pies

These cookies are wonderful as is, or with the icing in between. I really like this recipe, and once again, it’s one I developed and tested!

I’m proud to say that I’ve now developed two original cookie recipes. Kinda proud of myself!

Have you ever worked on a recipe? How did it work out?

xoxo,

Honey

2 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Whoopie Pies, part II

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Butter Spice Cake Recipe | Nosh My Way

  2. Pingback: Carrot Coconut Bread | Recipes for a Healthy You

Leave a Reply

