Hey Honey, What’s for Dinner?

I’m setting it up to start a new series on the blog –> Menu Planning.

I know, everyone and their Momma has a Menu Planning Recipe blog, and now I do, too! Woot!

Well, it’s not quite there, I do have to build up my repertoire of recipes (that sounds pretty… repertoire of recipes…), so I figured I would start sharing some of the tried and true recipes I keep in rotation. I will share them with you, then start to set up and show how I do my menu planning. Then you’ll have a sneak peek into how I do my monthly meal plan, and you will also have access to the recipes. It’ll be a work in progress, but aren’t those the best?

So without further ado – I present to you:
♦  ♦  ♦  ♦

CHEESY CHICKEN AND POTATOES!

Today is rainy. Cold. Yucky day. Perfect day for comfort food at dinnertime.

This Cheesy Chicken and Potato casserole is a favorite of my family, and hubster requests it on a regular basis. The inspiration for this meal came from Singing Through the Rain, and from making it so often, my family has found our favorite version. We love it the way it is, but we also enjoy playing with it and using different sauces as the base.

In our case, we love using Try Me Tiger Sauce.

Chicken and potatoes

This sauce has got to be the best kept secret in Louisiana! My brother-in-law John introduced us to this sauce when he made us homemade Red Beans and Rice (*drool!*) and I haven’t looked back. Can’t live without Tiger Sauce (and no, there’s NO endorsement here, I buy this product, love this sauce!).

Honey Coconut’s Version of Cheesy Chicken and Potatoes:

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb boneless chicken breasts, cubed (1″)
  • 6-8 medium peeled potatoes, cut in 1/2″ cubes
  • 1/3 c olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 3-4 Tablespoons Try Me Tiger Sauce

Topping Ideas:

  • 2 c fiesta blend cheese
  • 1 c crumbled bacon
  • 1 c diced green onion
  • cubed avocado
  • sour cream

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray casserole dish with cooking spray.
2. Peel and dice potatoes. Cube chicken.
3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the olive oil, salt, pepper, and Tiger sauce. Add the cubed potatoes and chicken and stir to coat. Allow to marinate for about 15-20 minutes. Then pour into prepared casserole dish.

chickenandpotato1
4. Bake the potatoes and chicken for 55-60 minutes, stirring every 20 minutes, until cooked through, crispy, and browned on the outside. I set my timer for 20 minutes and stir when the timer goes off. Depending on thickness of potatoes, you may need an extra 15- 20 minutes, depending on your preference for potato softness.
5. While casserole is in the oven, fry up the bacon, making it nice and crispy. Once bacon is done, crumble it.
6. When potatoes and chicken are done, pull out of oven and top with cheese, bacon, and onion. Return to oven and bake for 5 minutes. I like to turn on the broiler and allow the cheese to brown on top for an additional 3-5 minutes (it doesn’t take long with the broiler!).

chickenandpotato2

The toppings my family prefers are bacon, cheese, green onions, and sour cream. I also love to add some additional Tiger Sauce, it gives a nice kick.

chickenandpotato4

Again, this isn’t an original Honey Coconuts recipe, but you can find a variation here and the original here. In these variations, they use hot sauce and Frank’s Red Hot, but I can imagine that it would be yummy with BBQ sauce and ranch, as well.

What sauce would you like to try?

xoxo,

Honey

Leave a Reply

