What do “normal” people eat for dinner?

I spend a lot of time on Pinterest. Quite honestly, an ungodly amount of time on Pinterest.

Most of that time, I’m looking at the Food and Drink pins.

I love finding new recipes to try, but I’ll be honest, some of these food pins leave me wondering, “Do people really eat that way?”

I don’t know about you, but when I’m cooking a meal or preparing my menu plan, I like dinners that are somewhat easy, with little to no prep, and a relatively manageable (read: small) ingredient list. I also want to be able to pronounce what I’m cooking and not need to Google ingredients.

For instance:

Rosti Dauphinoise.

Rosti-Dauphinoise-708x800

Who cooks this?!

Better yet, who cooks this and doesn’t refer to it as fancy hashbrowns?!

Sweet Potato and Quinoa Salad with Soft-Boiled Eggs

First, let’s take a moment to appreciate her beautiful blog, and the time she took in photographing this dish as well as developing it, and let’s not even get into her skill at hard boiling those eggs.

IMG_2858-450x675

Ho-man…

last one…

Truffled Gnocchi with Mushroom Ragu

Once again, it’s a totally classy blog, creative and beautiful all rolled into one, and would definitely steam roll my country arse any day (especially since I’m used to Ragu being that red sauce in the jar at WallyWorld…)

IMG_3029

Needless to say, perusing the Pinterest food and drink board leaves me feeling inadequate and seriously wondering DO PEOPLE REALLY EAT LIKE THAT?!

Or am I just a backwoods redneck?!

There are recipes that I don’t share and probably won’t ever, because they’re so … normal.

Shake ‘n bake chicken?

Black bean and cheese enchiladas?

Fried/baked porkchops?

Meatloaf?!

Country fried steaks and white gravy?!

and seriously people, we’re not above having hot dogs and homemade French fried potatoes for dinner.

So what does that say about our eating and cooking habits? I try to balance meals – meat, starch, veggie, bread.

Oh Pinterest. Thou makest me feel like a donkeypunched wench!

What are some of your tried-and-true-but-oh-so-NORMAL recipes?

xoxo,

Honey

 

Leave a Reply

