Funfetti Cake Batter Dip

My little boy is 4.

_MG_6658a

I don’t know where the time went, or why it thinks it has to fly by so fast, but it better stop. Nao.

19854_108202839192321_4460258_n

Like, right nao.

DSCF5191

We had his birthday party while his grandma was in town, it was small and intimate.

IMG_6670a

But I imagine next year, I won’t be able to get away with a small party.

Mini-me will start Preschool which means lots of minions running around.

Can’t wait! But then I would have to share the awesomeness …

of the Funfetti Cake Batter Dip…

Funfetti

*drool*

Yes, drool all over that keyboard, because it was soo yummy.

Ethan’s future wife loved it so much, she double dipped with her hands. Yes, at that point I had to hide the main container I was storing the dip in, just to make sure it didn’t get preschooler attacked.

cakebatter3

It was like an episode of American Gladiators when it came to dipping this beautiful-sprinkled-birthday-cake awesomeness.  I might’ve been body slammed by a 4 year old, but so worth it.

funfetti

And then, we had a brain-explosion when Misty and I realized we could use different styles of cake mix in this same recipe to make panty-droppin’ dip in other flavors!

Strawberry cake?!

Red Velvet?!

DEVIL’S FOOD?!

We started buckling up our safety helmets and bench pressing preschoolers in preparation.

I think we may have to arrange a girl’s night just to try some of these other variations. The more wine we sip, the better they’ll taste, I’m sure, haha.

cakebatter1

I will admit, this is not an original recipe. I found several variations on Pinterest, and went with one that seemed the easiest/simplest. It’s certainly not “healthy” either. But c’mon, birthday parties are once a year. Indulge a little.

I used the cake batter dip recipe from PinCookie. It worked really well, and tasted great!

Funfetti Cake Batter Dip

Ingredients

  • 1 box cake mix (I used Funfetti)
  • 1 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 2 cups Whipped Topping
  • 1 cup multi-colored sprinkles plus 1 tablespoon sprinkles (for garnish)

Directions

  1. Use a mixer for this. Your arms will thank you. Which means, put yogurt, cake mix, and whipped topping into the bowl of a mixer and thoroughly combine.
  2. Transfer to air tight container and chill for at least an hour before serving.
  3. Just before serving, gently fold in the cup of sprinkles and garnish with the additional tablespoon sprinkles.

We served this dip with pretzels, vanilla wafers and graham crackers. The vanilla wafers were definitely the preferred cookie, but I enjoyed the pretzels, too.

cakebatter4

I’m definitely excited about how easy it was to create this dip, and I’m even wondering if you could use pudding mix for an even wider variation of flavors.

cakebatter5

I think this may be my go-to sweet dip for parties from now on!

Do you have a tried and true dip recipe?

untitled-2-copy

Leave a Reply

