Cinnamon Cream Cheese Snickerdoodle Cookie Bars

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Snickerdoodle Cookie Bars.

Snickerdoodle cookie bars

Whew.

That’s a mouthful!

And trust me, considering I just created this dessert, it’s a lovely mouthful of yumminess!

This cookie bar concoction started as a daydream about cream cheese bars.

Have you researched cream cheese bars? Apparently you use canned crescent rolls. I had no idea. They looked yummy, but they weren’t quite what I wanted.

So I began brainstorming ideas … white chocolate shortbread cream cheese bars… no… white chocolate  cream cheese bars… peanut butter white chocolate cream cheese bars… all possibilities, but again, negatory homies.

Then I started thinking that perhaps I should just make Joey some Snickerdoodles.

And it hit me.

Like a snickerdoodle to the noodle.

Cinnamon. Snickerdoodles. Cream Cheese. Cookie Bar. Stir, bake, combine! Oh MY!!

Snickerdoodle Cookie Bar

This cookie bar features a snickerdoodle bottom and upper crust, with a decadent cream cheese center, topped with a delicate, cinnamon-y glaze.

The glaze was actually Joey’s idea. He liked the bars, but he said they felt plain; he suggested I add a “wetness” to it.

My first thought was rum, but he then clarified – a glaze or an icing.

*sigh*

So I topped it off with a cinnamon glaze and it got two thumbs up from the hubmeister.

Snickerdoodle Cookie Bar

Go me 😉

 

Snickerdoodle Cream Cheese Bars

Step 1: Preparing the Cookie Crusts

Snickerdoodle Base/Topping

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Dough Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and lightly spray a 8×8 baking dish with cooking spray or grease with butter. (You could realistically use a 9×13 dish, as there will be plenty of batter, I just wanted to make a small batch of snickerdoodles as well.)
  2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt and cream of tartar; lightly whisk with a fork to blend.
  3. In bowl of stand mixer, generously cream the butter and sugar. Add in the eggs and vanilla, thoroughly beating after each addition.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the butter/sugar mixture, 1/2 cup at a time.
  5. If using an 8×8, spread about 1 1/2 – 2 cups snickerdoodle dough into bottom of pan (if using 9×13, spread half the dough). Set aside the remaining dough. (At this point, I put the remaining dough into another bowl, and cleaned my mixer bowl so that I could use my stand mixer for the next step.)
  6. Bake this part of the cookie bar in the preheated oven for about 10-12 minutes, or until lightly golden and just done.

Step 2: Preparing the Cream Cheese Center

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Mixture

Ingredients

  • 8 ounce brick Cream Cheese, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup powdered sugar, to taste (I used 1/2 cup)
  • 2 teaspoons Cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1 egg, yolk separated (we’re using the yolk!)
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon and sugar blend

Directions:

  1. In bowl of stand mixer, beat cream cheese, sugars, cornstarch, and cinnamon until fluffy. Add in egg yolk and vanilla, beat until thoroughly combined, and no longer lumpy.
  2. When bottom portion of cookie bar is finished baking, spread cream cheese mixture on top of baked cookie.
  3. On top of the cream cheese mixture, carefully spread the remaining snickerdoodle dough, being careful to cover the cream cheese mixture.
  4. Sprinkle the top with cinnamon/sugar blend.
  5. Bake in preheated oven for approximately 28-30 minutes.

Step 3: Whisking up the Cinnamon Glaze

Cinnamon Glaze

Ingredients

  • 2-3 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and whisk vigorously until no longer lumpy and is a smooth consistency.
  2. Drizzle over cooled cookie bar.

 

Hubby likes this creation, and I have to admit, I think I did pretty darned good for this experiment.

Snickerdoodle Cookie Bars

The bottom cookie crust stays nice and moist, and holds up well with the cream cheese mixture. The top cookie crust puffs up, but is nice and tender, with a gloriously lightly crispy top. Then when you top it off with the glaze, you don’t get an overwhelming sweetness that becomes too much; rather, you’re left with a pleasantly sweet, gooey cream cheese cookie bar that is loaded with snickerdoodle flavor!

Snickerdoodle Cookie Bars

As a word of caution, however, be sure to cut into it when it’s cooled completely. Don’t be an impatient little sass like me, haha.

Snickerdoodle Cookie Bars

See how the middle there is all droopy and falling apart? Yuppers, that’s what happens when you dive right in and it’s still too hot. I didn’t learn my lesson, I can assure you.

Snickerdoodle Cookie Bars

I also kept chewing through the burning pain that was my tongue. Stubbornness knows no bounds. Especially when it’s in the form of indulgence with Snickerdoodle Cream Cheese cookie bars!

I’m really excited about these bars, especially since they’re another one of my brain children. It’s been so long since I’ve baked anything, let alone written a post about baking that I was starting to worry I was losing my touch.

Rest assured that’s not the case.

I did, however, hit a rough patch these last few days with the Polymyositis, but I’m working through it. That rough patch just kept me from being able to stand for longish periods of time, which meant baking held no appeal. That’s truly a bummer.

But on the upside, I can bounce back with a delightfully sweet treasure like this, so I’m not all gone!! Wooo!

I’m sure, as with many of my other recipes, that this one could be modified and played with to create other versions… for instance, instead of snickerdoodle cookie dough, I’m willing to bet that Chocolate Chip cookie dough or Sugar Cookie dough would be lovely too. Or even Crescent Roll dough, haha.

What variation are you most interested in?

untitled-2-copy

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

