Chicken Burritos with Avocado-Cilantro Cream

Not too long ago, hubby complained that we were having too much Mexican-style food for dinner (is there such a thing as too much Mexican food??). In terms of different cuisine styles, Mexican is definitely my favorite, followed closely by Italian and Chinese (…although…where would Sushi and coffee fit in there…?).

So, to appease his bored palate, I started cooking other things besides my beloved Mexican food.

BUT, when I figured enough time had passed, I pulled out the tortillas and decided to fake some chicken burritos!

Burritos

What I love about burritos is how forgiving they are; you can stuff them with so many options and they’re bound to be tasty.

These were so awesome that hubs said he loved them. He even ate the leftovers for lunch. That, in itself, is enough for me!

Burritos

This is an incredibly simple recipe, and after assembly, I grilled them on my panini press. Grilling them on the press put some beautiful grill marks on the burritos and helped the cheese get perfectly melty.

Yumm-o.

Making it even tastier is the Avocado-Cilantro cream. SO delicious!

burritos

I have a habit of buying avocados, I love eating them, but I am the only one who eats them like that. Hubby likes them, but only when “hidden” in a recipe. So I was faced with a soon-to-be-bad avocado. Knowing we were already going to have sour cream with our burritos, I decided to play dress up and make the sour cream pageant-worthy.

Make the Avocado-Cilantro Cream at least an hour prior to using it, so that it has time to let the flavors meld.

avocado cilantro cream

Avocado-Cilantro Cream

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Sour Cream (plain Greek Yogurt would work really well, too!)
  • 2 tablespoons diced onion
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon lime zest
  • 2 teaspoons lime juice
  • 1 1/2 tablspoons fresh chopped cilantro
  • 1 whole, small, avocado

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in food processor; pulse until thoroughly blended and sauce reaches a smooth consistency. Taste, add more salt/pepper as needed.
  2. Refrigerate for at least an hour before using.

Cilantro just goes so well with avocado and lime…

Next, you want to get your rice started, you don’t want it to be hot when you’re trying to stuff the burritos.

I used the boil-in-bag rice, and I added a slice lime and some fresh cilantro to the boiling water. It brought a light cilantro-lime flavor to the rice. I wish I could say it made an obvious flavor profile in the burrito, but you really couldn’t tell. You could skip this part if you so wish.

For the chicken burritos, you could use shredded chicken from a rotisserie chicken; this recipe would work great for leftover chicken.  I pan-cooked the chicken with a garlic butter, then when it cooled, I shredded it in my stand mixer, leaving the shredded chicken in the mixing bowl.

burrito5

Shredded Chicken Burritos

Ingredients:

  • Burrito sized tortillas (I was able to make 8)
  • 2 cups cooked rice
  • 2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
  • 1 cup salsa (or more depending on how wet/dry you want the chicken)
  • sliced avocado
  • 1 cup shredded cheese
  • 1/2 cup diced red bell pepper (I used half a large pepper)
  • 1/2 cup sliced red onion
  • 2-3 cloves diced garlic
  • fresh diced cilantro
  • olive oil

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, combine shredded chicken and salsa.
  2. In a saucepan on medium heat, using the olive oil, saute the red bell pepper and onion, about 2 minutes. Once the pepper and onion are soft, add the diced garlic and saute for about a minute longer.
  3. Once the pepper, onion, and garlic are cooked, add in the diced cilantro and allow to cook together for about a minute.
  4. After the pepper, onion, garlic, and cilantro are cooked, combine with the salsa and chicken. Stir to combine.
  5. Now to stuff the burrito –  lay burrito flat, then spread on rice, top with cheese, then layer with chicken/salsa mixture. Top with avocado slices and fold.
  6. Bake on panini press for about 3-4 minutes or until insides are melty and there are nice grill marks on both sides. For my particular press, I don’t need cooking spray, so go with the specific requirements of your press.
  7. Serve with Avocado-Cilantro cream and enjoy!

It really made my night when hubby said he loved them. Ethan even enjoyed his, although I just made him a kid-friendly version – rice and cheese.

burritos

This may have just become my family’s favorite recipe.

Does your family have a favorite recipe?

untitled-2-copy

Leave a Reply

