Peanut Butter Pudding Cookies

Y’all know I can’t go a week without baking cookies, right?

I tried. I really, really tried.

I thought the Snickerdoodle Cream Cheese cookie bar would suffice for a while.

It was close.

But not enough.

pb pudding cookies

I’m not ashamed and it’s not like they’ll go to waste. Hell, the cookies of this post are gone already.

They’re that damned good.

I probably should cut back on the cookies, though. Or at least try to bake with less fat content. After all of the weight that I unhealthily lost from the PM, I’m finally back to a comfortable number, and I don’t want to lose/gain anymore.

*sigh*

But… COOKIES.

5a

These were made with one of my favorite baking ingredients – Reese’s Mini Peanut Butter Pieces. I adore using these in my cookies; they give the perfect peanut butter taste without being overwhelming and they have a crunch that is dream-worthy.

If you remember, I also used them in my Peanut Butter Dream Bars and my Congo Bars.

I often keep a bag of these babies in the baking cabinet; I never know when I want to use them.

4a

It’s been a while since I’ve baked cookies with peanut butter; lately we’ve been obsessed with Snickerdoodles, so I’ve been keeping Hubs in a constant supply of those. But Peanut Butter cookies came to life when I ran out of Cream of Tartar (and you cannot make Snickerdoodles without Cream of Tartar!!).

My Peanut Butter Pudding Cookies are incredibly easy to make, because (as the name implies) they follow the basic pudding recipe and do not need any additional peanut butter added into the mix.

7a

Hubs said that if I had added additional peanut butter (I was contemplating adding about 3/4 cup), it would’ve been overwhelming.

However, if you so wish to add the peanut butter, then by all means, indulge!

Peanut Butter Pudding Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter (1 1/2 sticks)
  • 1 box (3 oz or thereabouts) pudding mix (I used Vanilla)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup Reese’s Mini Peanut Butter Pieces

Directions:

  1. Prepare flour by adding the baking soda and giving a good whisk to combine the two, set aside.
  2. In mixer bowl, fitted with paddle attachment, generously beat the crap outta the butter and both sugars until super light and fluffy. Add pudding mix powder and beat until combined.
  3. Throw the eggs in (make sure you break them outta those shells first, though), followed by the vanilla flavoring and beat.
  4. Combine the flour mixture and the butter/sugar mixture, lightly beating until thoroughly mixed together.
  5. Using a spoon/spatula, gently stir in the Reese’s bits until they are completely incorporated in the batter.
  6. Lick the spoon.
  7. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  8. Preheat oven to 350° and prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat (bonus points for you!).
  9. Roll cookie dough into 1″ balls, or just use a cookie scoop and place about 1″ apart.
  10. Bake for 10-12 minutes, depending on your oven. Mine baked perfectly at 11:30 but my oven is also the portal to Hades and hates me.
  11. Immediately transfer to wire rack to cool and then fight the impulse to shove three in your mouth at once.

After I finish baking cookies and they’ve cooled, I have two places that I store them – a Christmas themed Mickey Mouse tin and a clear plastic container.

8a

This time, Ethan asked to help me with the cookies. Of course I’m going to let him, he’s my baby.

I gave him the task of putting some of the cookies away in the Christmas tin.

In his preschooler mind, that translated to SHOVE ALL OF THE COOKIES IN THIS TIN NO MATTER WHAT. IF THEY DON’T FIT, SHOVE THEM DOWN.

11a

He got them all to fit.

All three and a half dozen of them.

In that one tin.

The boy has skills.

Instead of getting upset, or griping, I just started laughing and praised him.

Afterall, he did what I tasked him to do – he put the cookies in the tin. Next time, I will just have to clarify that we’re going to put the cookies in the tin AND the clear container.

They still tasted great, smooshed and all!

untitled-2-copy

Leave a Reply

