Cooking. And “art,” too.

Since the move, most of my crafting stuff has been packed away in a closet. We just don’t have the room for me to bring all of it out, especially since the baby now resides in a corner of our bedroom. But since I’ve been attempting to keep up with the Whimsy By Kelly creative challenge, I’ve been missing my supplies. Like, desperately missing them. So we moved a few things and made a small open space in a corner of our bedroom; then I went through the crafting stuff and pulled out my “necessities.” I’m super excited about it, because now I have access to my stamps, ink pads, stickers, pretty papers and more. I can’t wait to start including these items in my weekly challenge submissions! This week, Kelly challenged us to find a mistake in a creation and fix it. Personally, I have a ton of items that I felt had issues, so really, narrowing it down to what I wanted to fix was the biggest issue, haha. This week, I decided to “fix” a mandala that I had started a while back. The mistake is glaringly obvious to me, as is the fact that it’s not really a mandala, is it?

Fix a Mistake!

Fix a Mistake!

But I went back to it, looked it over, and attempted to fix a few of the concerns that I had with it, then I added color. The second submission for this week was another inspired by the fix a mistake prompt. This time it was a Triple Goddess drawing that I just couldn’t figure out. After erasing the original lines and decorations, I was inspired to add swirlies and stars instead. Then, once again, I added color. I really think it looks way better and I love it more. I’m just not so sure about the word, and I think I may fix it again by removing the word!

Triple Goddess

Triple Goddess

The other submissions are food related, and I would like to share some recipes with you (are we surprised?!). The first food item is a rare thing for me: chocolate. Yes, you read that right – chocolate. This submission is an amazing chocolate frosting that the hubby and I made for a chocolate cake. We were told by all that it turned out really yummy, and I have to admit, the little taste I took was chocolately. Challenge submission #8: Chocolate Frosting…

Sorry for the awful photo!

Sorry for the awful photo!

I would share a recipe, but honestly, we just threw the ingredients into the bowl and hoped it worked out; no real measuring done. The gist of it, however, was 2.5 sticks butter (whip it generously!), followed by unsweetened cocoa powder (at least 3/4 cup), followed by 3 cups confectioners sugar, 3.5 tablespoons half and half, and vanilla flavoring. Those are the ingredients we used, and I think those are somewhat accurate guesstimates on the amounts we used. We just went with it.

My next cooking excursion is a delish Cheddar Broccoli Soup. It’s from Yammie’s Noshery and it is ah-maze-balls! Hubby is super picky about what he favors, and this is one that he requests time and again.

Creative Challenge submission #9 –

Crappy photo of amazing soup!

Crappy photo of amazing soup!

The next foodie submission is a new family favorite – Semi-Homemade Stromboli. The stromboli I’m sharing is inspired by the Veggie Cheese Stromboli from Pip & Ebby. The Olive and Sundried Tomato pesto is what caught my eye, and is, hands down, my favorite part of the whole thing.

Stromboli goodness

Stromboli goodness

So, without further ado, I bring you Challenge Submission #10-

Pepperoni Stromboli with Sundried Tomato Pesto

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup pitted kalamata olives
  • 1/4 cup sundried tomato slices, packed in oil
  • 1 tablespoon oil from sundried tomatoes
  • 1 can refrigerated pizza dough
  • 12 slices cheese (We used cheddar and provolone)
  • 1 bag pepperoni slices
  • 12 ounce jar roasted red peppers, drained, patted dry and cut into strips
  • 1 egg, beaten

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400° and line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, then spray with Pam.
  2. In a food processor, combine the olives, sundried tomatoes, and oil until it become a chunky paste.
  3. Sprinkle your work area with flour, then dust some on a rolling pin. Gently roll the dough out, being careful to not make it too thin.
  4. Using a spoon, spread the olive/tomato mixture on the dough, leaving a half inch border on the edges. Top the pesto with cheese, followed by the roasted red pepper strips, followed by the pepperoni.
  5. Fold the edges of the dough in on over the filling on all sides, gently pinching the corners together. Carefully roll the dough, from the longer side, it will look like a doughy jelly-roll.
  6. Carefully pick up the stromboli and put it on the foil-lined baking sheet.
  7. Using a pastry brush, lightly brush the stromboli with the beaten egg.
  8. Bake 25-30 minutes, until golden. (My stromboli cooked perfectly at 27 minutes).
  9. Let cool, then slice and enjoy!

Finally, I have two doodles that I recently started. The first is not completed, I think I want to add color (I love color!) but I know the second is done.

Creative Challenge #11 –

Not quite finished. Needs color?

Not quite finished. Needs color?

and finally, for this week, Creative Challenge #12 –

Just doodled in the small spaces...

Just doodled in the small spaces…

hope you enjoyed and that you are keeping up with your challenge submissions!!

Leave a Reply

