Triple Threat Peanut Butter Cookies

I know, I know; I said I was going to try to get away from sharing so many cookie recipes. I really had the best of intentions; and to be honest, I really wasn’t planning on sharing these cookies at all.

IMG_3047a

But when the first batch came out of the oven, and they revealed themselves to not only be lovely looking, but to also taste amazing, I knew I had to share.

This recipe is actually adapted from the Soft-Baked Reese’s Pieces Butterscotch Cookies found over at Sally’s Baking Addiction. I highly recommend you take a day or two and browse her recipes; I’ve yet to find one that I didn’t drool over.

Now, there is a caveat to this recipe – it has to be chilled for at least two hours. The reason is because melted butter is used in the recipe (I know, I’ve never used melted butter before because it generally causes cookies to spread really thin) so chilling the dough keeps the cookies firm and prevents super spread.

IMG_3041

In the original recipe, it was advised that the dough would be crumbly, but I didn’t have that issue; and that is probably because I added peanut butter into the batter.

And that, my lovelies, is why these are Triple Threat Peanut Butter Cookies, with a recipe adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction.

In my version, I added in 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter; 1/2 cup miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips; 1/2 cup peanut butter chips and a whole lotta Reese’s Pieces! So you see- peanut butter, peanut butter chips AND Reese’s pieces equals the triple threat peanut butter concept ::wink::

IMG_3040a

Now, because we are using melted butter in the recipe, I definitely suggest you follow the directions to the letter; that includes hand whisking in the first part and using a spatula to fold in the flour/chips.

The batter isn’t super thick or hard to manage; rather, the cookies come together incredibly easy!

And, they’re almost gone here.

doctorcookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk (room temperature)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter chips
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • two handfuls of Reese’s pieces (plus another or so… ha!)

Directions:

  1. As always, the first step is to get the dry ingredients together – in a bowl, throw together the flour, baking soda, salt and cornstarch.
  2. In another bowl, using the whisk, blend the brown sugar and granulated sugar; then whisk in the melted butter, making sure there aren’t any lumps left over. Continuing to whisk, add in the egg, then the yolk, thoroughly blending after each addition. Whisk in the vanilla.
  3. Using a spatula, fold in the peanut butter.
  4. Still using the spatula, combine the wet mixture with the dry ingredients. Fold these together until no flour remains to be seen.
  5. Once the batter is smooth and soft, fold in the chips and Reese’s pieces. At this point, your goal is to make sure that all of the chips and pieces get mixed evenly throughout the batter.
  6. This is the important part – CHILL the dough!! Chill it bro! For at least 2 hours (up to 3 days, max). If you don’t, those cookies will spread because of the melted butter. So chill, yo.
  7. Once chilled, let the dough come to room temperature, about 10 minutes.
  8. So now we preheat the oven to 350° and line the baking sheets with parchment paper (or if you’re awesome you have a silpat, at which point, send me one, haha).
  9. I used my cookie scoop, then used my hands to make the balls nice and even, once they were on the cookie sheet, I lightly flattened the tops and then added copious amounts of extra Reese’s pieces. I totally had the cutest helper, in the form of my niece, but I didn’t get pictures, we were too busy eating the pieces, haha.
  10. Bake the cookies for 10-11 minutes.  Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for 10 minutes before moving to a wire rack to cool completely.
  11. Resist the urge to Eat. Them. All.

a80d5f7e15886ab69d39ac2b510e920b

I love these cookies. Seriously.

I’m also happy that I added in that peanut butter, I think it enhanced the flavor so much. So a warning – if you’re looking for super chocolately, this is not the cookie for you; if you’re looking for peanut buttery – so much win!

Leave a Reply

