Tie Dyed Cookies

Not going to lie. These cookies started out as Unicorn Poop (let that sink in for a moment, haha).

To be honest, I’m not even sure how I stumbled across this recipe, but when I did, I loved the idea of it. Seriously, who wouldn’t love to eat glittery, rainbowy unicorn poo??

My son, as it turned out. No joke, when we made these, he was so excited until we started making them look like poo piles, at which point he tapped out.

But when I made them into basic round cookies and called them Tie Dye, he was all up in that shizz.

Tie Dye Cookies

When he showed them to grandma, he said the Unicorn Poo cookies were “eewie” and that she needed to eat the other cookies because they were yummies. Even though they were all from the same recipe, he was completely turned off at the idea of eating anything labeled poo, regardless of whether it is the glittery shit of a mythical creature.

Tie Dye Cookies

So here we are, “Tie Dye” Cookies, (also known as Unicorn Poop) happily created from the recipe over at Ambyfelix.com, and slightly modified to fit the fickle needs of a five year old.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup room temperature butter
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I used butter flavor stick shortening)
  • 3 tablespoons cream cheese
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • Sparkly sprinkles, decorations, etc of your choosing

Directions

  1. Combine the egg, butter, cream cheese and shortening in a mixer bowl and combine on low speed.
  2. Toss in the sugar and salt; thoroughly combine; add the vanilla and beat until mixed through.
  3. Remove the bowl from the mixer, and using a large spatula, slowly add in flour, one cup at a time, until combined.
  4. Chill dough for about 20 minutes.
  5. Carefully divide dough into equal parts, I eyeballed it at this point, I don’t have a scale, but I’m sure that would be useful!
  6. Place divided dough into separate bowls and add food coloring. Using a spatula or a spoon, gently mix to get the coloring throughout the entire dough section. Work the coloring in until it is completely integrated. The food coloring will look much darker in this state and will lighten up when baked.
  7. Cover bowls with plastic wrap and chill for another 30 minutes.
  8. Preheat oven to 350°
  9. To assemble the tie dye cookies, use a 1/2 teaspoon (or more or less) of each color; smoosh them together in the palm of your hand and work the dough into a disk shape, attempting to create the tie dye color scheme of your choice.
  10. Place cookie on parchment lined cookie sheet; these cookies do not spread! Top with desired sprinkle, roll the sides in sprinkles, or do nothing, they look cool like virgins, too. Also, I recommend underbaking them slightly, only cooking them for 10-11 minutes (depending on your oven, maybe even 9 minutes!).
  11. Remove from cookie sheet and cool on wire wrack.
  12. Never refer to them as Unicorn Poop again, or the boy will never look you in the eyes again.

And because I am an overachiever (hahahahaha!), I have another blog post that I’m going to have ready for you within the next few days, and it doesn’t even have anything to do with homemade cookies!

But it is Valentine’s Day related. I’m so excited! I actually have a post prepared that relates to an upcoming holiday.

Woot woot!

Tie Dye

3 thoughts on “Tie Dyed Cookies

    • I hope I didn’t offend with that comment! The cookies were a huge hit with my niece and the boys. Even though I’ve baked up many cookies, these are the ones that officially made me the “cool” auntie LOL! Thank you for sharing the recipe to begin with, it’s fabulous!

Leave a Reply

