Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Blondies

I baked again.

I couldn’t resist.

Not that I even tried.

But there is just something so alluring about getting in the kitchen and baking up some goodies. In this case, a good blondie. For those of you who aren’t familiar with a Blondie, it’s like a brownie but with brown sugar and they’re like a cookie bar. They’re just as soft; just as tender and just as addicting.

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Blondies

I love them.

I’ve made different types of blondies before and the common theme in all of them is peanut butter. This one is no different (although if you’ve been keeping up with this blog, you know peanut butter is one of my many weaknesses!). This blondie was created with a new peanut butter that I recently discovered. It’s so creamy and fabulous that I find myself sticking a spoon into the jar and eating it straight (no chaser, yo!).

2e8812f0fbdbf4707fb095b21ea5233b

It’s Peanut Butter & Co’s The Bee’s Knees – It is SO good. I knew I wanted to bake with it, but it took me until now to decide what to do. What’s more classic than dark chocolate and peanut butter (and let’s not forget the Reese’s Pieces that I tossed in there, too!).

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter blondies

This recipe is so easy, and bakes up in less than 30 minutes. I added copious amounts of dark chocolate chips and Reese’s Pieces, but it is customizable in that you could add any combination of chips you wanted. I think I’m starting to get a little predictable here, though, seriously, I think I’ve used Reese’s Pieces in a majority of my cookies recipes…

45c99064242ed28187f26ba800795d73

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup room temperature butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter ( I used Peanut Butter & Co‘s The Bees Knees)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup Reese’s Pieces

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and lightly grease an 11 x 7 pan.
  2. In medium bowl, combine flour, salt and baking powder. Set aside.
  3. Using a stand mixer, cream butter and brown sugar; mix in peanut butter.
  4. Add in eggs, one at a time, beating thoroughly after each addition. Add vanilla and combine.
  5. Slowly mix in flour, half cup at a time, until completely blended.
  6. Once flour is thoroughly mixed in, use a wide spatula and gently fold in the chocolate chips and Reese’s pieces.
  7. Pour batter into prepared baking sheet and gently spread to all corners, making sure the batter is evenly dispersed in pan.
  8. If desired, put additional chocolate chips and Reese’s Pieces on top of batter.
  9. Bake in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  10. Let cool for at least 30 minutes before cutting (if you can resist!)

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

I let me blondies bake for a bit over; I wanted a more done, cake like texture. However, if you want more gooey blondies, under bake them by a few minutes. The beauty of baking anything at home is that you can do it however you desire it. (But let’s be honest, burnt isn’t truly Cajun, haha.)

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Blondies

Next time I get a hankering for one of these bars, I’m thinking about using marshmallows and semi-sweet chocolate. Yum!

What additions would you like to see?

Leave a Reply

