Funfetti Cakesters

I’ve had a few cake mixes in the cabinet for what seems like ages. Usually I don’t care as much for boxed mixes, and like to challenge myself to bake from scratch, but seriously, there are days when I want something yummy, and I want it now, dang it!

I started searching for recipes that used a cake mix but wasn’t a cake (or a cookie); I came across Whoopie Pies and Oreo Cakesters…

funfetti2

So technically a cookie but not completely so.

I followed the recipe here, from Everyday Occasions by Jennifer Steffens Hobick. This recipe definitely created a more cake like texture, and mine puffed up more than the in the original recipe which was a bit unexpected. It doesn’t detract from the taste, but it slowed my roll in terms of making Whoopie Pies… my outcome are less like Whoopie Pies and more like those Oreo Cakesters (just, not Oreo-y).

funfetti4

The texture reminded me more of cake style muffin tops. I’m not completely disappointed, but I do feel as though I could’ve just followed the cake instructions and obtained the exact same outcome.
So – to clarify – these are NOT cookie style; they’re definitely cakey. If you are cool with that, then carry on!!

funfetti1

The icing center is from another recipe, and I will share it, but I’m not sure that I’m actually in love with it.

It’s funny though, because they are definitely disappearing, and I can admit that I’m not responsible for that!

The hubby ate one and said he liked them; he even complimented the center icing. I mean, that really surprised me – the man is super picky about his sweets (seriously though, he did spend quite a bit of time in Germany while in the Air Force, and he says chocolate here in the States don’t compare…)

funfetti3

So while I’m lukewarm about the whole product, everyone around here seems impressed. So I say give ’em a go and see what happens!

fetti

Ingredients 

For the cakesters:

  • 1 box Funfetti cake mix
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

For the icing:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 2-3 cups confectioners sugar, sifted (cup amount varies depending on your taste preference)
  • 1 -2 tablespoons half and half (you could use milk or even heavy cream, whatever floats your boat!)

Directions:

For the cakesters:

  1. Preheat oven to 400° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or silpat.
  2. In a mixing bowl or stand mixer, combine eggs, water, oil and cake mix; beat together for 2-3 minutes until all lumps are gone.
  3. Because these puppies will rise a bit, I only baked up 6 per batch. I recommend you do the same, just in case. Using my cookie scoop, I placed mounds of batter on the baking sheet and used the back of a spoon to smooth out the surface of the dough.
  4. Bake for 6-8 minutes.
  5. Place on wire rack to cool.

My batches were about 1″ in diameter and made about 4 dozen individual “cookies.”

For the icing:

  1. In a stand mixer, generously whip the shortening and butter together until combined.
  2. Blend in the confectioners sugar, adding small amounts of half and half if the icing becomes too thick.
  3. After adding 2 cups of confectioners sugar, taste and if desired, add an additional cup.

Assembly:

Using a piping bag, pipe a generous amount of icing onto the back of one cakester. Create a sandwich by gently pressing another cakester onto the icing. Eat. Enjoy. Repeat. Share?

funfetticollage

Leave a Reply

