Hello there, Puddin’

I’ve been horribly lazy of late. It’s not that I haven’t created anything interesting or lovely, it’s just that I’ve been terrible about photographing and sharing them…

Seriously, I’ve made some fun stuff!

Monogrammed my cricut… (slapped a cute little kitty on it, too).

Did some zentangling…

and most recently, E and I made (from scratch) Banana Pudding.
We’re talking no box, for real,  with eggs, sugar and vanilla, creamy, and indulgent from scratch.

Ohhh, it is soooo yum!

I adapted the recipe from the Food Network, it’s from Trisha Yearwood. Her version calls for meringue on top, but c’mon, you just need good ol’whipped topping! I followed her pudding recipe, but instead of making meringue, I used Cool Whip and layered it – pudding, banana slices, whipped topping, repeat.

The recipe is so simple, even E was able to easily help me, although his favorite part was eating it, rather than making it. There is no “trick” to it, and I honestly find it just as easy to make pudding this way as it is to use a box mix.

It did my heart good to hear him proudly tell everyone that he helped make the pudding.

I’m going to share the recipe, for sure, but in terms of photos, you won’t really get much – maybe a scraped bowl photo – because I so lost track of pictures and then it was all gone!!

  Proof is in the pudding, right? Haha

(I don’t know why the color is so off, sorry!)

  Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • Box of vanilla wafers
  • 3-4 bananas

Directions

  1. First, we need to separate the yolks in three of the eggs. So in a separate bowl, place the yolks, then break one whole egg into it. The bowl will contain three yolks and one whole egg. Make scrambled egg whites with the rest of the other eggs, it’s what we did, haha.
  2. In a pan, whisk together the sugar, flour and salt. Stir in the eggs, and then the milk. Cook uncovered, stirring frequently, until the pudding thickens, about 10 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat and add the vanilla (don’t forget this step, or you’ll have no flavored pudding!)
  4. Take the pudding off the heat to cool, but try to consistently stir it, to prevent the pudding from gooping up. While the pudding is cooling, since the bananas.
  5. Once cooled, layer the pudding in a bowl – pudding, banana slices, cookies, whip topping, repeat. If you put it in a clear or glass bowl, it looks so pretty.
  6. Once you reach the final layer, which is whip topping, I would hope, I like to sprinkle crushed wafers and place a line of wafers along the outer ring. It just looks adorable that way.

I have some other posts that I am planning, that should have more photos (haha!!) 

You can find the original recipe from Trish Yearwood here. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

After making this pudding, I started thinking about variations on a theme (so to speak) and I want to try this recipe with coffee creamer – I was curious about whether flavored coffee creamer would bring another level of flavor to the pudding. I was thinking about half milk and half creamer – how yummy would Coconut Cream or Snickerdoodle creamer be?? 

If you make one of the variations, let me know!!

Leave a Reply

