Hiatus over, furniture redo

Hey guys! I’m back again, hopefully for a good stretch! We have been so busy lately that I’ve barely had a chance to catch a breath. We’ve gone on a mini vacation to Michigan (an amazing family reunion), multiple doctor and VA appointments, bought a house and moved in, all since my last post. It seems like it’s been forever! 

I’ve really missed the blog and all of you.

But not to fret, I have some fun stuff in store! There’s not much craft stuff to share, sadly enough, I’m still working on unpacking and organizing my crafty goodies (there’s just so much of it!). 

In the meantime, I wanted to share a furniture makeover – my first ever attempt! I have to admit, of all the things I needed to get done, this table should’ve been bottom of the list. But the moment I set eyes on this beauty, I *had* to dress her up!

  
 

Coconuts Husband was the one to find her, an old sewing table, tucked away in a corner of our (new) favorite thrift shop. The table had been marked down but was in great shape (if you look past the chipped veneer). 

I knew I wanted a dark brown top, with a distressed cream bottom.

Luckily the paint guys at my local Home Depot were showing off some Valspar Chalk paint. They walked me through the basic steps, even showing an example they had in store. That was enough to convince me, so I grabbed a can of Valspar Chalky Finish in Moonstone Ring, along with a can of the Valspar finishing wax, and two cans of Rust-oleum metallic spray paint in the color of Flat Burnished Amber.

  

It was such an easy redo. I couldn’t believe how satisfying and quite simple the whole project was, from start to finish.

  
My very first step was to remove the old heavy sewing machine and all of the hardware.

Then, for the top, I sanded, cleaned it, laid down a layer of Zinsser Primer then spray painted two coats. I also spray painted the original hardware in the same color. I love this color, it has really pretty glittery specks (to the delight of my niece who watching my progress).

For the bottom, I didn’t apply any Zinsser because the Valspar chalk paint said it doesn’t require a base coat. I decided to go along with it and see what happens.

After applying the chalk paint, I let it dry for two days, then sanded like a mad woman (trust me, that killed my poor joints, but it was so worth it!).

  

I followed up the sanding with a gentle wipe down with a damp sponge then the little Coconut and I waxed it. Seriously, waxing is so easy, even my 5 year old could do it.

Because, no joke, he did do it. The basic premise is to dip your brush into the wax, brush it on, let it wait for a few minutes and then wipe off with a lean, dry rag.

  
I absolutely love the finished look.

This was my first time doing this, and I can say that I’m already addicted! I find myself scouring thrift stores and yard sales looking for other pieces that can be painted and revived!

Here is a nifty little “Before/After” photo:

  

I feel like I need to let y’all know too, that my little blog isn’t cool enough or big enough or even important enough to have a sponsor with promoted items. Rather, the items I discuss are ones that I bought on my own and paid for myself.

What are some furniture projects you’ve enjoyed? Share them in the comments, I’d love to see them!

Leave a Reply

