My favorite chocolate chip cookies…

I am so excited to share this chocolate chip cookie recipe. I know it’s just another cookie recipe, but seriously, this is THE cookie recipe.

Coconut dark chocolate chip cookies

I took a big hiatus from baking (what with the move and unpacking, it was just not feasible to spend all day baking) but recently came back to it after suffering a minor heartbreak.

When your heart is demolished, freshly baked cookies can help.

Except I ruined them. In my doom and gloom I created an awful batch of cookies. I was so embarrassed.

Luckily I always keep baking supplies in hand, so I just put on my big girl undies and forged ahead. Only this time I sat down with my collection of recipes and tweaked, poked and prodded my original recipe until I came up with one that I wanted to experiment with.

It was a great experiment! I absolutely love how these cookies turned out, but I will admit that the hubby did not like the chips I used.

choc_cookie5

These are dark chocolate coconut chip cookies with semi-sweet chips added for good measure (so what is that… Dark Chocolate Coconut and Semi-Sweet Chip cookies…that’s a mouthful!).

Unfortunately, even though they’re Nestlé, hubby does not care for the “strange, fake aftertaste” courtesy of the coconut in the chips. So after taste testing, and liking the texture, the soft center with the perfectly crisp outside he requested a second batch, but without the icky coconut chips.

The batch made for hubs. Dark chocolate and semi sweet chips

The batch made for hubs. Dark chocolate and semi sweet chips

I happily obliged and can attest to the repeatability of this recipe. I followed it exactly, and I was able to replicate the delicious results. My second batch consisted of semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips. The husband gave it two thumbs up and the seal of “regular rotation” approval! Even the littlest coconut loved them, begging for a second cookie (you know how 11 month olds beg? By staring at the cookie headed to your mouth, while their own mouth hangs open… Kinda hits you in the guilt spot, haha).

choc_chip4

But trust me when I say that this recipe is a keeper, and is truly the only chocolate chip cookie recipe you will ever need, ever again.

It’s incredibly versatile. My first batch included coconut-dark chocolate chips, while my second batch had two different types of chocolate chips. You could realistically include any combination of chocolate chips or add ins that you want, and the cookie should still come out beautifully.

chocolate chip cookies

An addendum to keep in mind, too, is that I chilled these cookies for 12 hours. I wanted to see what would happen, and this is what I will do from now on.

It actually helped my poor joints doing it this way. I made the dough, cleaned up, then the next day, I was able to bake without much mess. It was lovely!

When preparing them for refrigeration, make sure you use enough flour that your dough isn’t sticky, then roll it up in plastic wrap. When ready to bake, unwrap and slice. With your hands, roll the dough into roughly 1″ balls, making them taller than wide, and flattening the bottom.

Slice the chilled dough, and flatten the bottom of the cookie dough balls

Make the cookie dough balls taller than they are wide

This method helped my cookies bake evenly and look like gorgeous bakery style cookies!

choc_cookie1

And the taste…oh, heavens to be, these cookies will make your knees buckle from joy! If you don’t believe me, come over and have a few!

secondbatch1

Another view of the second batch, with the dark chocolate and semi sweet chips…you can drool, now!

Without further ado, the recipe!

Honey’s Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup your choice chocolate chips (dark chocolate, milk chocolate, etc)

Directions:

  1. Do not preheat your oven, these cookies need to chill for at least 2 hours up to 12 hours.
  2. In mixing bowl, combine flour, cornstarch, baking soda, salt, and baking powder. Gently whisk with a fork to combine.
  3. Using a stand mixer (or handheld mixer) beat together the butter, and both sugars until light and fluffy. Then toss in the vanilla, followed by the eggs.
  4. Slowly add in the flour mixture, on low speed and gently mix until combined.
  5. Using a spatula, fold in the chocolate chips.
  6. Lay out sheets of plastic wrap, and using the same spatula, spread the dough on the wrap, rolling the dough and covering it. Once covered and in a log-ish shape, pop it in the refrigerator for a few hours.
  7. Once ready to bake – preheat oven to 350° and prepare two baking sheets with either silpats or parchment paper.
  8. Unwrap the chilled dough, slice sections off and using your hands, roll the dough into 1″ balls. Flatten the bottoms (as seen in the above pictures) and then mold the balls to be taller (more of a mound vs round).
  9. Place dough balls on baking sheet and bake for 9-11 minutes, depending on your oven.
  10. Let cool completely on the baking sheet before removing.
  11. Enjoy!

Makes about 4 dozen cookies.

3 thoughts on “My favorite chocolate chip cookies…

  1. Pingback: Birthday on a budget | Misadventures of the Coconuts

Leave a Reply

