New Adventures in Scouting

Well we’ve either done something brilliant, or we’ve dug ourselves into a deep hole. I’ve yet to decide.

What I have decided is that I have found a place that calls to me! Well, a second place (the first is the classroom. Oh how much I *love* being in there!!).

Ethan brought home a brochure for Cub Scouts and told us he was interested. We attended the sign up/information meeting, and here I am, two weeks later, DEN LEADER! Can you fathom?!

I’m not sure how it happened, other than being talked into it, discussing it over with the hubster and us *both* being incredibly excited to start this journey as a family.

dsc_0433

I’ve never been involved in scouting before, so I really don’t know what to expect, other than fun, long days, camping trips, badges, oh my!

dsc_0428-2

This past weekend we attended our first Pack Family Fun Day, and this coming weekend we have our very first Den Meeting. After meeting the boys and their families, I can say that I am incredibly thrilled to be starting this journey as Den Leader.

I have crazy organization, put together folders for the boys with print-outs of the 6 required adventures, our Den meeting schedule and a welcome letter.

dsc_0429-2

dsc_0430-2

To help me keep track of the boys’ progress, I even purchased the tracking chart from the Scout store. I will use this to keep track of each boy, so that I know where each boy is. In my Den Leader binder, I have individual tracking sheets for each boy, so I can keep more detailed notes on their progress to earning their badges!

At our Pack Fun Day, the boys had an opportunity to earn an easy badge from the Boy Scout troop hosting us, all they had to do was show their knowledge of the Cub Scout handshake.

dsc_0530-2

I think we are going to have a wonderful time, and I can’t wait to share some of our adventures with you!

Do you have any experience with the Cub Scouts? I would love to hear your thoughts, tips, and memories!

Leave a Reply

